Reworking old images with new software

imagining_color.jpgRecently I have been going back and looking at some older images that I took with film.  Some of these I can photograph on a lightbox with my Canon 1Ds Mark III using a 100mm macro lens with a 12mm extension tube to get more than 1:1 and shoot within the boundaries of the slide or negative to get a “new crop”.  The side benefit of this technique is I can get a RAW image of the old slide and more easily fix any color casts.  On larger transparencies I have to resort to the flat bed scanner, which isn’t so bad really is the format is large enough.  The one presented here is a 50 x 120mm positive transparency from a Noblex 150.  When I took the image ten years ago I did not think much of it at the time.  However with Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 2.1 and Photoshop CS4, I can breath new life into images such as these.  It’s almost as good as going back.

